A Novel Approach to Marginal Notes

Many of us are crunched for time and we will be using the semester break to get ahead for the spring semester. Here is a quick way to annotate a text with notes for both the classroom and research purposes. It is easy and adaptable to your research and teaching interests!

Greg Specter

As an undergraduate when I was given a free choice to write about a work I often wrote about poetry. Writing about poetry was an easy thing because in a time-crunched-world poetry’s brevity allowed for rereading. When it came to novels I often felt I didn’t notice patterns until well into a book and I wasn’t about to reread an entire novel for a five page paper.

I’ve become a better reader over the years. I’ve also figured out my interests and those interests pop a lot more when I read. The rise of searchable online texts also makes the search for evidence a lot easier. What a time to be alive!

While in graduate school I developed a model of reading and note taking that relied heavily on a system of abbreviated tagging. This was a response to the time crunch, reading for specific class themes, reading for comps…

View original post 701 more words

Join the conversation! What do you have to add?

